Press Room

View All News

United Way of the Midlands announces 2022-2023 Board of Directors

Columbia, S.C. (September 12, 2022) – As United Way of the Midlands’ new campaign season commences, the organization welcomes its new members and executive committee of the 2022-2023 Board of Directors.

New members of the board are: Peyton Bryant, Partner, Director of Business Development at Trinity Partners (Columbia, SC); Tanya Butts, Executive Vice President, COO and CRO at First Community Bank; Glen Caulk, Partner at Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough; Shannon Eichelberger, CPA, Internal Audit Manager at AgFirst Farm Credit Bank; Kristin Scott, Marketing Manager for PAI; Nicole Scott, Senior Vice President and South Carolina Market Executive for Bank of America; and Thomas Tafel, Community Outreach Manager for Lexington Medical Center.

“We are excited to welcome these leaders to our board to assist us in creating generational change by meeting immediate needs, breaking cycles of crisis and empowering people to build their own paths to success,” said Sara Fawcett, President and CEO of United Way of the Midlands.

Roslyn Clark Artis, J.D., Ed.D., President of Benedict College, will serve as this year’s Board Chair and the MacKenzie Scott Gift Advisory Committee Co-Chair. Artis is devoted to transforming colleges and universities that serve underrepresented people of color. For the past five years, she has led Benedict College as its first woman president and has earned numerous awards.

“I am honored to serve as the Board Chair for the United Way of the Midlands as we head into this new and exciting year,” said Artis. “The United Way is a driving force in helping our community to assess its greatest needs, including closing equity gaps and finding creative ways to address health and human services issues. We are united in this effort!” 

Scott Graves, BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina’s Private Business Division President, will serve as Vice Chair and Nominating and Governance Committee Chair. Kevin Lindler with First Citizens Bank will serve as Treasurer and Finance Committee Chair.

“Our Board members are committed to serving and creating actionable plans to positively impact the Midlands community,” said Fawcett.

Rounding out the Executive Committee are: Tim Arnold, Human Resources & Compensation Committee Chair; Tod Augsburger, Campaign Co-Chair; Michael R. Brenan, MacKenzie Scott Gift Advisory Committee Co-Chair; Janet L. Carlson, Health Council Chair and WellPartners Advisory Council Chair; R. Jason Caskey, Audit Committee Chair; Baron R. Davis, Ph.D., Racial, Equity & Inclusion Chair; Bill Harmon, ALMI, ACS, Education Council Chair; Liz McCary, Communications Chair; Brittany Owen, Campaign Co-Chair; Nicole B. Scott, Community Impact Committee Chair; and Jason Wolfe, Immediate Past Chair.

For a complete list of United Way’s 2022-23 Board Members, visit


About United Way of the Midlands

United Way of the Midlands is the most organized, efficient and accountable system for investing in the community. With nearly 70 Community Impact Partners, United Way works to identify and respond to the critical human service needs of Calhoun, Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry, Orangeburg and Richland counties. Funds are raised through workplace campaigns, grant awards and individual donations. For more information, please visit

View All News